July is always a great month for us here at GumGum—it means summer is in full swing and one of our favorite events of the year is just around the corner!

Our GumGum Hackathon competition was held July 11th-13th. For those who aren’t familiar, our Hackathon is an opportunity for employees across the globe to come together in teams of four (or less), bring an idea to life in 48 hours and ultimately showcase their creation to our panel of judges to compete for the $2,500 cash prize! 

We more than doubled our participation from 2017, with a total of 17 teams presenting and representing from across offices in LA, NY, Chicago, Mexico and Tokyo! With over 44 participants in our headquarters alone, we made sure to keep our Hackathoners fueled up with meals like the Acai breakfast bar, a Sweetfin Poke bar and Hopsy beer taps stationed throughout the office. We had Zeel On Demand stop by to give everyone a moment of relaxation with their chair massages, and we had a boba stand stationed in our kitchen for everyone who needed a sweet midday treat!

On Friday, each team had 10 minutes to present their hack(s) to our panel of judges. After what seemed to be an intense deliberation, the winners were announced at our Hackathon Happy Hour on our beautiful sunset rooftop. This year, the judges wanted to recognize participants from our 2017 Hackathon—especially those whose ideas had been implemented over the course of the year. This year’s Hackathon was truly a successful event and we are already counting the days to see what innovative ideas our team can come up with next!

Here are our winners this year, Team Coinotate!  

Check out the full list of winners below:

  • 1st Place: Alex Wang, Will Dayrit, Jatinder Assi and Ricardo Vega (Coinotate)
  • 2nd Place: Liam King, Tomas Medina, Marlissa Wong and Luis Martin (The Ad Visionaries)
  • People's Choice: Alex Wang, Will Dayrit, Jatinder Assi and Ricardo Vega (Coinotate)
  • Impact Award: Merrill Bajana, Eder Sanchez, Walid Shaita, Mahdiye Jamali (Command Shift More)
  • Impact Award: Dan McKenna, Cambron Carter, Divyaa Ravichandran, Iris Fu (White Space)

For a full recap of this year’s hackathon, you can watch the video here: